Texas Child Support Guidelines Change - Effective 09/01/2019
On September 1, 2019, Texas law changed concerning child support guidelines. In Texas, the legislature promulgates a series of guidelines to help determine the appropriate amount of child support that should be paid by the child support obligor. While the guidelines are not absolute, and it is possible to receive above guideline child support, the guidelines do form the basis of most child support determinations in Texas.
Under the child support guidelines, the obligor must pay a specific percent of his/her ‘net’ monthly income in child support. It is important to remember that net income, as defined for child support, is different than actual ‘take-home pay’ for most people. Previously, the amount of ‘net income’ considered under the guidelines was capped at $8,550 per month. Even if a parent made $50,000 per month, under the guidelines, only the first $8,550 would be considered as ‘net income.’ For example, if there were one child, the parent paying child support would be required to pay 20% of no more than $8,550 under the guidelines or about $1,710 per month in child support. This is often referred to as ‘max’ guideline child support.
As of September 1, 2019, the cap increased to $9,200 per month, and the first $9,200 of net monthly income will now be considered for child support. In the example above, child support for one child would increase from $1,710 per month to $1,840 under the new guidelines. To determine whether you are eligible to pay or receive ‘max’ child support, it is essential to refer to the tax charts calculated by the Office of the Attorney General. At this time, the OAG has not published updated tax charts reflecting the new cap. However, we estimate that under the tax chart, a person makes $9,200 ‘net monthly income’ if they make $12,000 in gross income per month, or about $144,000 gross per year. The previous cap reflected a gross annual income of approximately $141,945.72.
Child Support Increase is NOT Automatic
A change in child support amount does not happen automatically. If you are currently receiving ‘max’ guideline child support or believe you may be eligible, please contact the Ramos Law Group, PLLC to discuss modifying your support order to reflect the new law.
If you need more information regarding child support, please visit our primary child support page:
Texas Child Support Cap Increased in 2019
The Texas Child Support Division of the Attorney General only reviews the CAP once every six years and the increase in child support is NOT automatic. Find out if you qualify for a Texas Child Support increase by scheduling a consultation today.