After working in family law for the past 14 years from an intern in a local family law court to running my own practice, I have decided to expand our Agreed reduced retainer Family law Services. The services we include: Agreed Divorce Agreed Motion to Modify Agreed Child Name Change Agreed Suit Affecting P/C Relationship...
To obtain a divorce in the state of Texas, at least one of the spouses must have been domiciled in the state of Texas for the six months preceding the filing of the divorce suit as well as a resident of the county in which the suit will be filed for at least the preceding 90 days. If neither spouse has been a Texas resident for at least six months prior to filing the suit, you have not established jurisdiction and will need to wait until six months have passed until you may file for divorce in Texas. This is a jurisdictional issue, meaning that the Court has no power to grant a divorce until at least one spouse has met the residency requirements.
Transfer of property
Your Final Decree of Divorce will include language awarding property to you and your ex, however that is not the final step in the process of awarding property. Make sure that, if relevant to your case, documents such as Special Warranty Deeds, Deeds of Trust or Powers of Attorneys are signed, notarized and filed with the proper entities. Don’t wait until an issue pops up down the road to discover that you never transferred the title to a piece of property, make sure it’s all handled quickly after your divorce is finalized.
Posted by Mary E. Ramos | Uncontested Divorce
An uncontested divorce is the quickest and the least expensive way to get divorced in Texas. In this type of divorce both parties must be able to remove the emotional side of divorce and treat the process as a business transaction without the need of extensive litigation. To quality for an uncontested divorce both parties must be in agreement with all of the following terms: